Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Law Society of Scotland parades its new ‘Yes Men’ Council members, ‘already decided’ election results to prop up 'bully boy regulator'

THE Law Society of Scotland, that ever so self serving institution which claims to represent both the legal profession & the public interest has announced its new complement of “yes men” (and women ! – Ed) to fill its Council and comply with the wishes of the bloated, over salaried & increasingly belligerent Edinburgh based regulator.


At least four new members are set to join the Council of the Law Society of Scotland following this year's round of nominations and elections. Roughly one third of the elected element of Council is open to nomination and election each year with constituencies based on sheriffdom and sheriff court areas.

At the close of nominations for this year's election, those nominated in each constituency were as follows (with numbers of seats shown in brackets)

Ayr (1) - Stewart Sheddon*, Dumbarton (1) - David Newton*, Dundee (2) - Janet Hood** / Ken Swinton, Elgin & Nairn (1) - Neil Ross, Haddington, Peebles, Jedburgh, Duns and Selkirk (2) - Morris Anderson* / Kirstie MacNeill*, Inverness, Dingwall, Tain, Dornoch and Wick (1) - George MacWilliam*, Kilmarnock (1) - Andy Glencross*, Kirkwall, Lerwick, Portree, Lochmaddy and Stornoway (1) - Sheekha Saha*, Linlithgow (1) - Nyree Conway, Stirling, Falkirk and Alloa (2) - Ken Dalling* / John Mulholland / Alastair Ross ,*designates a sitting Council member **Ms Hood is currently a co-opted member of Council but will now sit as an elected member for Dundee

In the constituency of Stirling, Alloa and Falkirk, there were three nominations for two vacant positions.  There will now be an election amongst solicitors in that area to decide which two candidates will become members of Council. Postal ballot papers will be sent out this Friday (27 April) and the deadline for their return is 12 noon on Wednesday 9 May 2012.

Sitting Council members Ian Bryce (Linlithgow), Ian Cruickshank (Elgin & Nairn), John Hall (Dundee), David McClements (Stirling, Falkirk and Alloa) and Scott Milne (Dundee) have each chosen to step down from Council and not seek re-election this year.

President of the Law Society of Scotland, Cameron Ritchie said: "I would like to thank Ian Bryce, Ian Cruickshank, John Hall, David McClements and Scott Milne for all their work as members of Council. Collectively they have given over 30 years of service to the profession as Council members and all five will be missed from our Council meetings. I wish them well for the future. I also look forward to welcoming the new Council members who I am sure will make a great contribution and provide a fresh perspective.   Congratulations to those existing Council members who have been successfully re-elected and I am looking forward to hearing the outcome of the election in the Stirling, Falkirk and Alloa constituency. The Society's Council members do a tremendous amount of work on behalf of solicitors across Scotland, increasingly so in recent years as a result of the fast-paced rate of change within the legal sector and the additional pressures brought about by the downturn.  Council itself has changed significantly over recent years with around 40% of members having joined over the course of the last 18 months.  With a clear strategy and corporate plan, Council is focused on leading and supporting a successful, respected legal profession.  I am sure these new and returning Council members will be of huge help in meeting this objective over the coming years."

No comments: